How to start an international parenting blog?

Starting a blog and then not posting anything for almost two months. That’t not the way to do it.

But it sounds exactly like something I would do.

Anyway, you’re not here to hear excuses (I have none) but I will give some explanations why it’s been so silent on my blog.

Basically, since fatherabroad came online I also have been picking up with my online freelance work.

Which is, if you believe it or not, writing blog post for other people.

So during our sweaty, hot and hilarious days running around Santa Marta and getting our lives on track I also try to find time to work for others to get more people to visit their website. By the time the day is over, Salomon sleeps and we have some time for ourselves, I literally don’t have any words left in my fingers to put to paper.

As a result I have been neglecting my baby a little bit. And by that I mean of course this blog, not Salomon.

Speaking of which! This little dude is now 11 months old! Almost one year on this planet! Time is going faster than ever. I’m already starting to get empty-nest syndrome nightmares.

Just kidding.

What happened since my last blog post?

Well, he walks! Today I counted eight steps before he bumped down on his culo. I’m sure he will be running around by his first birthday…

salomon_mat
Salomon playing in the rain with one of his monkeys

As for major developments in his little live, we have started taking him every week to this place called ‘Encantando’. Musical stimulation. It’s basically a very nice paisa lady with a guitar and a bunch of other babies and their moms/nannies (and an occasional dad). It has been a great way to start building our social network (other parents with kids -> same phase in life -> instant friends). Kids, dogs, the latest iPhone; they are all great tools to start a conversation and meet new people.

And it is so much fun to see how Salomon interacts with other kids.

Or actually, how they don’t interact with each other.

I had no clue of course (this is my first little one), but babies of around this age don’t really play together yet. They play in the same location. And if the toy they play with happens to become the desired toy of another baby, then some interaction might take place. But in general it’s just crawling on top/over each other just because that is the shortest way to Their Goal. Which can be said toy, mom, dad, the dog, the cat, food, a piece of paper, an ant, etc. etc.

Of course there is real interaction between Salomon and us. But it’s so funny to see how the little ones are not really playing together yet. I’m sure that will come any time soon. I can’t wait to see it.

In the meantime I’m going to make a promise: at least one blog post every week.

ps. (can you do ps in a blog?). For those in need of Dutch articles, written in such a way that you will score high in Google? Go to https://www.fiverr.com/sjorscrusius and order my gig!

One thought on “How to start an international parenting blog?

Leave a comment